Home : High School


The information on these pages is provided for informational purposes only. It is not to be considered legal advice or counsel.


In Maryland, teenagers are eligible to obtain a driver's learner's permit at the age of 15 years and 9 months. State law, however, requires that teens - even homeschoolers - under the age of 16 must submit a School Attendance Certification form.

You can download Form DL-300 from the MVA website.

Completing Form DL-300

Homeschoolers who review with their county should contact their school board liaison to make an appointment to have the form completed. Homeschoolers registered with an umbrella group must have the umbrella's director sign the form.

In both cases, the form must have a raised seal stamp on it. The form must be placed in a sealed envelope and the envelope must have an official school or homeschool stamp or seal on the flap.

Should MVA wish to verify that a homeschool umbrella group is in fact registered with the Maryland State Department of Education, you can expedite the process by having MVA staff check the official MSDE list of umbrellas at: http://nonpublicschoolsdb.marylandpublicschools.org/nonpublic/home_instruction/DisplayLocationsByCounty.asp

The School Attendance Certification form is not required after a teenager's 16th birthday.


For More Information:


The information on these pages is provided for informational purposes only. It is not to be considered legal advice or counsel.


                     


                               

© 2014 Maryland Homeschool Association       E-mail:     |         |                                                 Last Updated September 11, 2018