Legally Working When You’re Under 18
Maryland teenagers between the ages of 14 and 18 must have a state-issued work permit in order to work paid employment.
Once a teenager has been offered a specific job, they must complete the following steps to obtain a work permit:
Apply for a work permit online through the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation.
Complete the entire application, including Minor’s Personal Information and Employer’s Information. You’ll need to know the type of business (such as retail or restaurant), supervisor’s name, and work duties.
Print the completed application.
Get the 3 required signatures: The teen worker, the parent, and the employer.
Give the signed work permit to the employer. They must keep it on file for 3 years.
When You Don’t Need a Work Permit
Teens under the age of 18 may not need a work permit for the following jobs IF the work takes place outside of the regular school day. Questions about the need for a work permit should be directed to DLLR.
Farm work performed on a farm
Domestic work performed in or about a home
Work performed in a business owned or operated by a parent
Caddying on a golf course
Employment as an instructor on an instructional sailboat
Manufacturing of evergreen wreaths in or about a home
Delivery of newspapers to the consumer
Work performed as a counselor, assistant counselor, or instructor at a youth camp certified under the Maryland Youth Camp Act
Hazardous work performed by non-paid volunteers of a volunteer fire department or company or volunteer rescue squad who have completed or are taking a course of study relating to firefighting or rescue AND who are 16 years of age or older
Work Restrictions for Teen Employees
As of September 2018, the following Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation restriction guidelines apply to minors.
Children under the age of 14 may not be employed or permitted to work.
EXCEPTION: Children under the age of 14 who wish to work as a model, performer, or entertainer should contact the the Division of Labor and Industry’s Commissioner at 410-767-2239 for more information.
- 4 hours on any day when school is in session
- 8 hours on any day when school is not in session
- 23 hours in any week when school is in session for 5 days
- 40 hours in any week when school is not in session
- 5 consecutive hours with a mandatory non-working period of at least 30-minutes
- Between the hours of 7:00 am and 8:00 pm
- Until 9:00 pm from Memorial Day until Labor Day
- May spend no more than 12 hours in combination of school hours and work hours each day.
- Must be allowed at least 8 consecutive hours of non-work, on-school time in each 24 hour period.
Last modified on September 13, 2019